CAD Modelling with Creo – Dalek, Scooter and Caster


Now that I’m an accredited teacher-trainer in the use of Creo, I thought that I’d write something about it! Creo is the latest version of the 3D CAD software which is developed by PTC. Many years ago, my school used ProDesktop before moving to AutoDESK Inventor back in 2008. Whilst Inventor does ‘the job’ well, I must say that I am really impressed with Creo. I find the whole design experience more rewarding (have a look at CreoFreeform on You Tube) and the photo-realisitc rendering is amazing – produced by a MentalRay add-in (for those of you who have ever heard of it – this is the same rendering technology which saw Yoda and Spiderman come to life – and was also used in movies like The Matrix). As I now develop courses in Advanced Higher Grade Graphic Communication, I thought that I’d post up a couple of models which I have produced this week.  Hopefully, this nifty software will also be used in Product Design, Engineering Science and in Practical Craft Skills.

The scooter was surfaced modelled and the caster is solid – both to unit standard as outlined in Outcome 1 and 2 in the AHGC course. The Dalek was a muck-about, though it turned out to be a pretty good impression of the classic Dr Who baddie! The Dalek can be downloaded as a part from Grab Cad. Enjoy!

             

